Woolery 2.0 + Win a free t-shirt

Way, way back—say thirty years ago when The Woolery opened for business— there was no internet, blogosphere, Twitter feed, or friending of the virtual kind. If you wanted to get in touch, you called, visited the farm, or signed up for our all-encompassing catalog that reached tens of thousands of dedicated crafters through their mailbox—you know that thing on a post outside your door?

Flash forward and that catalog has transformed into a comprehensive website. (You can still get a printed catalog!) And, we are finding new ways to keep in touch. Starting with this post, we will offer you regular blog updates to keep you current with what’s going on at The Woolery—and it is sizable.  We will be opening a grand new store in the fall with full classroom facilities, including a dye kitchen.  More to come on that.

There are other ways to stay in touch, too.  Sign up for our newsletter; join us on Ravelry, Facebook and Twitter; or you can still just give us a call.  Across these communication channels, we will be posting specials, give-aways, news from the fiber front, and information you need to know about the craft.

But perhaps you want to know more about who we are.  Well, we are a little rambunctious, like to laugh, are completely devoted to our customers, and feel very passionately about the community of crafters we serve.  The shop is staffed daily by Nancy (answers most incoming calls, orders all of the inventory, and keeps everyone calm), her husband Chris (fumbles around trying to keep up), the other Nancy (most excellent teacher and very knowledgeable in all aspects of fiber arts), Anita (the knitting queen, spinner, and weaver), Dara (spinner, weaver, knitter, and dyer—to name a few), Rebecca (spinner, knitter, and rug hooker), Judy (our shipping magnet), Connie (our web guru), Anna
(newest member, theater buff, and kumihimo lover), and Christian the dog (he thinks he is in charge and keeps the delivery people hopping, requiring a treat if you come in the shop).

But we are more than just a shop of devoted sales and support staff. We feel passionately about the crafters we serve and the joy of making stuff with our hands.  One small way we are giving back is we donate 100% of the proceeds of our Woolery Gear to charity. One of the charities that we support is Handspun Hope, a project in Rwanda that supports women and children, who, despite terrible odds, are working with their hands to make their families’ lives better.  Supporting their efforts (and others like them) is part of our mission here at The Woolery and connects us to the wider world of those who are as nutty about yarn (and making yarn) as we are.

So, hello! We love hearing from you. To celebrate The Woolery 2.0, we will select a random commenter to receive a free Woolery gear t-shirt.

The party is just beginning!

Chris, Nancy, and the entire Woolery team!

52 responses to “Woolery 2.0 + Win a free t-shirt

  1. WOW~~ Congratulations!!! Love everything you all do!!
    sch4gators- RAV ID

  2. Wow, it’s really cool that there is now Woolery Gear and even cooler that proceeds go to charity. I’m excited to shop.

  3. Congratulations on your new store! I’ve had a lot of fun browsing your website!

  4. yay!.. this was a lovely post!

  5. Congratulations on your thirty years of business! Hurray!

    I hope to read more about that project in Rwanda on this blog here. I am not on Facebook or Twitter – nope, not that social at all *wink* – but I keep an eye on your blog.

    Have a nice weekend. Ciao, Fleur

  6. I can’t wait for the new store to open, a dye kitchen you say?! Congrats on the new blog and 30 years.

  7. glad you’ve got a blog now, I’ve already added it to my feed to keep an eye on.

  8. Dream…someday I’ll be able to come to the store and veg out, for now I’ll live vicariously through your Rav, blog and website. Congrats on the new space!

  9. When I randomly bought a yarn winder from The Woolery a couple weeks ago, I had no idea it was such a progressive company. I look forward to hearing more!

  10. I’d love to come visit soon! can’t wait to see the new store.

  11. good luck with your new shop and new blog-and l love the colors of your new t shirt

  12. This is really great – just wish I were near Kentucky!

  13. Congratulations on the new store! Time for a road trip…

  14. I love that you have a blog now! I wish I lived close enough to shop in person, but the blog makes me feel as though I am almost there.

  15. So excited about the new store. Will it still be downtown? Can’t wait to visit the new digs.

  16. Wonderful blog!! Another fiber destination to add to my list!!

  17. I can’t wait to see what you all put on the new blog. I need to make a trip to see you all soon at the shop 🙂

  18. I hope to come down to attend a class soon. I ordered a spinning wheel from you and got great service! It is exciting to watch as you expand your shop!!

  19. Geat start to the blog, anxious to see more!

    Joyce

  20. Congrats on the new shop and blog! I look forward to getting to know you through here as more than just a shop, it’s so much more rewarding to order great items from great people than a nameless online store.

  21. How fabulous is this? A new blog, a new shop! I’m going to love reading your blog. Thank you for starting one.

  22. I love that you’ve started a blog.

  23. Handspun Hope sounds like an amazing organization. Thanks for all you do to make the world a better place.

  24. Congratulations on you new projects! It all sounds great especially the Handspun Hope project!

  25. I love the Woolery! I am a new spinner and it’s nice to have a place to turn to that I know offers quality products. Congrats on the new place!

  26. This is great news. I bought my first wheel from you and still use it daily. I don’t live near any other spinners so this blog is a blessing for folks like me.

  27. Just how random a comment do you want? Wool! Olive Oil! Sandpaper! Cup Hooks!

  28. Yay! Congratulations on all of your success. I hope to make it up to the new place some day.

  29. “Woolery 2.0”, that’s great! Welcome to the blogosphere and congrats on your upcoming new space!

  30. WOW! How wonderful! Thanks for making Frankfort an even more delightful community. And congratulations on all these great new Woolery changes!

  31. Welcome to the Blogosphere!
    I’ve been a customer since the beginning and wish you all the best now and in the future.

  32. You guys are awesome! I love the new site — and that great t-shirt!

  33. I’m looking forward to my first trip to the Woolery in September. At this point I have been an online shopper.

  34. Angelika Gessner

    Congratulations on the new store. I just love all the new additions for the information available. I bought my 1st wheel from you. Now that I live in southern Alabama ,no spinners in site ;-( , I’m sure to read the blogs.

  35. Knittingdancer on Ravelry

    Very interesting article to read. I like that the proceeds from the Woolery Gear goes to charity especially the Handspun Hope that sounds like a great charity.

  36. Welcome to the blogosphere! 🙂 Found you through ravelry (Purplemoose there). Best wishes for good success.

  37. I hope I can one day visit your store. It sounds fantastic! I am lotsofhermies on Ravelry

  38. what I would give to have a store like yours near! Love the idea of the charity proceeds. Best of luck with all your endeavours!

  39. I wish I lived closer so I could visit the new store! Thanks Nancy for helping me order up my wool. I love the colors it came in.

  40. found your site thru ravelry where I’m amyknit40

  41. I love all your products and I wish I lived close to your
    store but I am on the East Coast and so I will follow you via Facebook and
    the Internet.

  42. Great blog and nice to see the setting of the lovely new store. Wishing you much success in your continuing and expanding business. Love all that you do.

  43. A great blog. So happy to see your commitment to support those less fortunate that ourselves.

  44. i just found your blog and have my nose pressed against the computer screen drooling over the website!

  45. Another “must read” blog for my list. Congratulations! I’m ready for another road trip to Frankfort.

  46. baldguru aka charlie b

    Love your commitment to the community! Found you while searching for KCL Wood’s new 3 shaft drop spindles. Got one from you and love it!

  47. So happy to join the party!

  48. I love to hear about companies giving back. Found you off of Ravelry. Thanks for the chance to win your gear!

  49. Congratulations on 30 years! Wonderful to see you guys giving back to your community! And nice work on the cute shirts 😉

  50. Adina Salmansohn

    It is so good to hear that in these uncertain economic times, a store dedicated to the crafts I love is not only surviving, but thriving. It gives me hope for humanity that enough people have the right order of priorities!
    Good luck with the new shop and studio.

  51. Love the Woolery not only are you my go to resource for supplies but my go to resource for advice!

  52. I’m so glad that I’ve discovered spinning! I love it!

Leave a Reply

